Resources >> Browse Articles >> Special Education & Learning Disabilities


Special Education: Disability Categories

There are presently 13 broad areas of disability by which children may qualify for Special Education services. Each has a distinct set of criteria for which a child must meet in order to qualify for services.

1. Hard of Hearing

2. Deaf

3. Deaf-Blind

4. Visually Impaired

Related Links

5. Speech and Language Impaired

6. Specific Learning Disability

7. Multi-Handicapped

8. Orthopedically Impaired

9. Other Health Impaired

10. Mental Retardation

11. Autism

12. Emotional Disturbance

13. Traumatic Brain Injury

Learn About How To Refer a Child for Special Education

Teaching School Finder

Save time in your search for a degree program. Use Teaching's School Finder to locate schools online and in your area.

* In the event that we cannot find a program from one of our partner schools that matches your specific area of interest, we may show schools with similar or unrelated programs.